6 major and most prestigious badminton tournaments in the world

major badminton tournaments

Badminton tournaments are fun, sociable and incredibly competitive. And there are a lot of them around the world, for all levels. These are the major and most prestigious badminton tournaments in the world:

BWF Thomas Cup

Also called Men’s Teams World Championship, BWF Thomas Cup is the  biggest, oldest and most prestigious badminton tournament in the world. It’s an international competition between male teams from BWF country members. The first  event was in 1948, followed by a tournaent every three years, until 1982, when it started happening every two years.

Outside Asia, England was the only country to host the tournament. Indonesia has won more than 48% of the 29 tournaments ever held, China, 21%, and Malaysia, 17.2%. Japan and Denmark each won one tournament.

BWF Uber Cup

BWF Uber Cup is the Women’s World Cup, Thomas Cup women’s correspondent. It is held simultaneously with it. The Thomas Cup is in its 29th edition and Uber Cup, in its 26th.

BWF Sudirman Cup

Surdirman Cup is the mixed teams world championship. It takes place every two years, each time in a different BWF country member. The first tournament was held in Indonesia, in 1989.

There is no cash prize. Athletes play for the prestige of their respective countries and to earn points in the BWF world ranking.

BWF World Championship

BWF World Championship also does not offer cash prizes, but it is the one that provides more ranking points. They receive the title of world champions and gold medals.

It started in 1977 and happened every three years until 1983, promoted by the IBF (International Badminton Federation).

After BWF started promoting the event, in 1985, with the same goals, BWF defined its periodicity for every two years, and, from 2006, every year. It is held in different WBF countries members.

BWF World Juniors Championship

BWF Wold Juniors Championship aims to reward the best youth players (under-19) in the world.

The first tournament was in 1992, in Indonesia, where after 25 years, in 2017, hosted the event again. Initially was held once every two years, and became an annual event after 2006.

World Grand Prix Finals

World Grand Prix Finals took place for the first time in Indonesia, in 1983, having been promoted annually until 2001, each year in a different Asian country, associated  with the International Badminton Federation (IBF).

The goal is to reward the best players of the year. Only the top 8 in the world ranking are invited to play. This tournament was no longer promoted after 2001.

Now that you know more about the major Baminton Tournaments in the world, how making sure you are on top of its rules? Read about it on our article about the main badminton rules.

Are you going to organize a badminton tournament? Check out our badminton tournament software, the best tools for managing tournaments and rankings, 100% Free!


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on telegram
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.